Essential Topics

← View all Essential Topics

Common Core

A shared set of learning expectations.

The Common Core State Standards (CCSS) are a set of shared goals and expectations of knowledge and skills that students will need to be successful in a global environment

The development of CCSS was a state-led effort to create rigorous, internationally benchmarked standards. Though adoption of the CCSS is not federally mandated, a large majority of states have chosen to adopt and implement them. The Common Core standards are organized into two main subjects: Mathematics and ELA/Literacy. The ELA standards are divided into 5 key areas:

  • Reading
  • Writing
  • Speaking and Listening
  • Language
  • Media and Technology (Media and Technology do not have any corresponding Strands, CCRs or Standards, however; they are embedded throughout the document.)

At each grade level, these areas are organized into strands:

  • Reading: Literature
  • Reading: Informational Text
  • Reading: Foundational Skills (Grades K-5 only)
  • Writing
  • Speaking and Listening
  • Language

Each Strand also has a College and Career Readiness (CCR) Anchor Standard, which is not grade-specific, but rather identifies what students should master by the end of high school. The common core has created an integrated approach to mathematics. They include both the conceptual process of mathematics and the content of math. The conceptual process includes 8 Mathematical Practices which should be practiced daily K-12 and describe habits of mind of a mathematical expert student. The Mathematical Practices K-12:

  • Make sense of problems and persevere in solving them.
  • Reason abstractly and quantitatively.
  • Construct viable arguments and critique the reasoning of others.
  • Model with mathematics.
  • Use appropriate tools strategically.
  • Attend to precision.
  • Look for and make use of structure.
  • Look for and express regularity in repeated reasoning.

The content of the CCSS Mathematics K-8 structure includes Domains, Clusters, and Standards.

  • Domain – Grouping of related clusters
  • Cluster – Groups of related standards
  • Standard- Defines what students should understand and be able to do by grade level.

High School Mathematics, instead of being organized by grade, is organized into conceptual categories:

  • Number and Quantity
  • Algebra
  • Functions
  • Geometry
  • Statistics and Probability
  • Modeling

Next →